Tsinghua founds Department of the History of Science and begins construction of the Science Museum

The founding ceremony for the Department of the History of Science, Tsinghua University, was held at Tsinghua on June 30th.

Tsinghua University President Qiu Yong, Professor C. N. Yang, Nobel Prize Winner, Tsinghua University Vice Chairperson Deng Wei, and Tsinghua Vice President Wang Xiqin all attended the opening ceremony.

Professor Wu Guosheng will be the first head of the new department. The Department will carry out academic research focusing on four aspects: the history of Western science and technology, the history of modern science and technology in China, the philosophy of science and technology, and scientific communication and science museum studies.

The Science Museum will open in 2021, on the occasion of the 110th anniversary of Tsinghua University. The Department of the History of Science will participate in the preparation of the Science Museum.